

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Date: April 26th, 2016

Thane Phelan Vice President Greater Yakima Chamber Of Commerce 509.248.2021 x.106 thane@yakima.org

Editorial Contact Verlynn Best President/CEO Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce 509.248.2021 x 102 verlynn@yakima.org (Yakima, WA) The Ted Robertson Community Service Award was established in 1989 by the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Presidents/Board Chairs to honor individuals each year that have made major contributions to the betterment of the Greater Yakima area. Ted Robertson, former publisher of the Yakima-Herald Republic, held a strong belief that good fortune earned in a community should be shared with that community. Ted also believed that we, as a community, ought to find more ways to honor people who distinguish themselves through their community service over and above their chosen profession.

The honorees are selected by the Past Board Presidents/Chairs of the Chamber for their inspiring leadership, achievements and commitment to the improvement of our community as business people and citizens of the Yakima Valley.

The prestigious Ted Robertson Community Service Award has become the Yakima Valley's highest recognition for civic accomplishment and involvement.

## The Past Chairs of the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce first announcement of recipients for 2016 are Steve and Anne Caffery.

Since 1986 Steve and Anne Caffery have been pillars of the Yakima Valley community, Steve as CEO of The Capitol Theatre (1986-2015) and Anne, President/CEO of The Memorial Foundation (1989-2016), Vice President of Memorial Family of Services (2000-2016) and through extensive community volunteerism.

As CEO of the Capitol Theatre, Steve Caffery positioned Yakima as a launch-site for National touring shows, created a \$15m Public Facilities District securing long-term funding, diversified programs by adding the 400 seat "4th Street Theatre", increased main stage capacity by adding 10,000 square foot Center for productions, and fostered community partnerships to create cross-cultural programming and expanded facility use and access to the community.

As a community leader and volunteer Steve has assisted The American Cancer Society, Rotary of Yakima, Yakima Downtown Association (Chair), the Yakima Visitors and Convention Bureau (Yakima Tourism)(Chair), and others. He has been honored with the Yakima Southeast Community Center "Make a Difference Award", Yakima Valley Opportunities Industrialization Center "Civic Responsibilities Award", Arts Northwest "Person of the Year", a "Community Leadership Award" from WA Association of School Administrators, WA State House of Representatives resolution 2015-4618 honoring Steve's "service, integrity, & making Washington a better place to live", to name a few.

In her role as President/CEO of the Memorial Foundation and VP of Memorial Family of Services, Anne has raised over \$90m. She is a founder of Children's Village, Administrator for Community Health, Brand Stewardship, and Development for Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital.

Her personal achievements are as varied and extensive. She has been a development

consultant for Perry Technical Institute, Washington State Fruit Commission, and Voluntary Hospital Association. She has volunteered as a trainer and/or educator with Yakima Valley Community College, The City of Yakima, American Fundraising Professionals, the Yakima Chamber Foundation's "Leadership Yakima" program and more.

She has been honored with the "YWCA Woman of Achievement" Award, the "Marvin Sundquist Get Involved" award, "Memorial Hospital AHA NOVA" award for community service and others.

As a team, Steve and Anne have lead the United Way Pillars Drive, been pledge volunteers for KYVE, co-chaired the Rotary District Conference, volunteered with Northwest Harvest, both have sat and/or chaired the Board of Directors of the Yakima Valley Visitors and Convention Bureau (Yakima Tourism), been on the Morelia Mexico sister city delegation, and both have been honored with the "Amor en Accion" award from Yakima Interfaith Coalition "La Casa Hogar".

### The Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Board Chairs are proud to announce recipients of the 2016 Ted Robertson Community Service Award; Steve and Anne Caffery

### The Ted Robertson Community Service Award will be presented at the Annual Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Awards Black and White Night Gala - Thursday November 3rd, 2016

#### **Ted Robertson Community Service Award Recipients:**

June 22, 1989 - Bea Noel April 5, 1990 - Greta Bryan April 25, 1991 – Dorothy "Bill" Donelson Robertson March 5, 1992 - Wesley H. "Bud" Snyder March 5, 1993 - Melvin Wagner February 4, 1994 - Bob DiPietro, Sr. February 24, 1995 - Shirley Doty February 6, 1996 - Marvin Sundquist February 8, 1997 - Bob "Straight Arrow" Lynch April 17, 1998 - "Ollie" Nelson February 10, 1999 – Eugene "Gene" Shields February 25, 2000 - Curtis King March 2001 - Ester Huey May 22, 2002 - Senator Alex Deccio April 3, 2003 - Paul Campbell, Gary George, Mel Moore, Gene Rostvold May 20, 2004 - Rick Linneweh April 14, 2005 - Gary Webster October 25. 2006 - Sid Morrison March 27, 2008 - Bob Hall September 24, 2009- Dale Carpenter October 8, 2010- Gary Lukehart September 16, 2011 – Bob Brown September 14, 2012 – John Gasperetti November 7th, 2013 – Greg and Jan Luring October 9th, 2014 - Ken Marble, Bill Dolsen, and Al DeAtley October 22nd, 2015 – Dr. Linda Kaminski and Ronald King