Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce in Yakima, Washington :: About Us :: Ted Robertson-Chamber Awards

Yakima Valley Tourism - Vist Union Gap

Ted Robertson-Chamber Awards

2017 Annual Chamber Awards and Ted Robertson Community Service Award
alt text

Held on Oct. 12th 2017 - Honoring the Ted Robertson Community Service Award Recipient Rick Pinnell AND The 2017 Chamber Award Winners!

2017 Chamber Volunteer of the Year
Jon Ison - Chair VMAC Veteran and Military Affairs Committee

2017 Non-Profit of the Year
Yakima Humane Society

2017 Emerging Business of the Year
Hoptown Pizza

2017 GYCC Member of the Year
Kellie Connaughton - Yakima Greenway Foundation

2017 Business of the Year  
Cowiche Canyon Kitchen & Icehouse Bar

Rick Pinnell was honored as this years recipient of the Ted Robertson Community Service Award, enjoy the presentation again if you were there ... or if you were not, Rick's acceptance is well worth your time! Enjoy!

alt text

Click here to watch the 2017 Ted Robertson Community Awards presentation 


The Ted Robertson Community Service Award was established in 1989 by the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Presidents/Board Chairmen to honor individuals each year that have made major contributions to the betterment of the Greater Yakima area.  Ted Robertson, former publisher of the Yakima-Herald Republic, held a strong belief that good fortune earned in a community should be shared with that community.  Ted also believed that we, as a community, ought to find more ways to honor people who distinguish themselves through their community service over and above their chosen profession.  The honorees are selected by the Past Board Presidents/Chairs of the Chamber for their inspiring leadership, achievements and commitment to the improvement of our community as business people and citizens of the Yakima Valley.


The Annual Chamber Awards
Nominated and voted by the Members of the Chamber, the Annual Chamber Awards are presented each year to showcase Yakima area businesses in the following categories; Volunteer of the Year, Non-Profit of the Year, Emerging Business of the Year, Member of the Year, & Business of the Year.


Past Ted Robertson Community Service Award Recipients:
June 22, 1989 - Bea Noel
April 5, 1990 - Greta Bryan
April 25, 1991 – Dorothy “Bill” Donelson Robertson
March 5, 1992 - Wesley H. “Bud” Snyder
March 5, 1993 - Melvin Wagner
February 4, 1994 - Bob DiPietro, Sr.
February 24, 1995 - Shirley Doty
February 6, 1996 - Marvin Sundquist
February 8, 1997 - Bob “Straight Arrow” Lynch
April 17, 1998 - “Ollie” Nelson
February 10, 1999 – Eugene “Gene” Shields
February 25, 2000 - Curtis King
March 2001 - Ester Huey
May 22, 2002 - Senator Alex Deccio
April 3, 2003 - Paul Campbell, Gary George, Mel Moore, Gene Rostvold
May 20, 2004 - Rick Linneweh
April 14, 2005 - Gary Webster
October 25, 2006 - Sid Morrison
March 27, 2008 - Bob Hall
September 24, 2009- Dale Carpenter
October 8, 2010- Gary Lukehart
September 16, 2011 – Bob Brown
September 14, 2012 – John Gasperetti
November 7th, 2013 – Greg and Jan Luring
October 9th, 2014 – Ken Marble, Bill Dolsen, and Al DeAtley
October 22nd, 2015 – Dr. Linda Kaminski and Ronald King
November 3rd, 2016 – Steve and Anne Caffery and Dr. Lloyd Butler

Protocol for Ted Robertson Award

The nominating of a Ted Robertson Award recipient is done through all of the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Presidents/Board Chairs at a meeting in the first quarter of each year.  The group meets to select from a list of candidates and fully vets, through discussion of community activities, the impact they have had.  Voting takes place from the narrowed candidate selection and final candidates are chosen.  In the second quarter the recipients are met with by the Past Presidents/Board Chairs and asked to accept this honor.  Once chosen and accepted, a press conference is scheduled where a press release is issued to the media.  The Ted Robertson Community Service Tribute Banquet is normally scheduled for the Fall (Sept/Oct/Nov time frame).

Featured Members

Virginia Mason Memorial Hospital Sonia Rodriguez True Law Central Valley Bank Magic metals