Contact Us Member Login


 (Yakima, WA) May 7, 2015 - The Ted Robertson Community Service Award was established in 1989 by the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Board Chairs to honor individuals each year that have made major contributions to the betterment of the greater Yakima area. Ted Robertson, former publisher of the Yakima-Herald Republic, held a strong belief that good fortune earned in a community should be shared with that community. Ted also believed that we, as a community, ought to find more ways to honor people who distinguish themselves through their community service.

The honorees are selected by the Past Board Chairs of the Chamber, for their inspiring leadership, achievements, and commitment to the improvement of our community as business people and citizens of the Yakima Valley. The prestigious Ted Robertson Community Service Award has become the Yakima Valley’s highest recognition for civic accomplishment and involvement.

This year’s we will be honoring two recipients, Dr. Linda Kaminski President of Yakima Valley Community College and Ronald R. King of Radio Yakima.

Dr. Linda Kaminski has been the President at the Yakima Valley Community College since 1995. In the last 20 alt textyears YVCC has enrolled over one hundred and five thousand students, awarded more than twelve thousand degrees and over four thousand certificates. YVCC has made nearly one hundred million dollars in capital improvements in the same time period.

Dr. Kaminski has been involved with numerous statewide educational com-mittees and boards. Locally, she has volunteered and served with Yakima Ro-tary, For a Better Tomorrow Board; Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Educational and Government Affairs Committees; South Central Washington Workforce Development Council Executive Board; KYVE Public Television Board; Yakima Symphony Orchestra Board; Yakima County Development Association Board and Foundation; Yakima Valley Community Foundation "One Voice"; Yakima County Health Council, and many more.

Ronald "Ron" King, has been involved in Yakima Valley radio broadcasting for most of the past 58 years. He has served the business community as a pro-fessional broadcast sales consultant since 1967.

His involvement in community has extended far beyond his broadcast career. Ron is a past Director of the alt textJaycees, and has served on Boards for: Montessori School; Central Washington MS Society; Yakima County Development Association; Yakima Rotary; Yakima Visitor and Convention Bureau; Yakima Advertising Federation; Yakima Radio Broadcasters; Fort Simcoe Council of the Boy Scouts of America; 13 years on the Yakima Specialties Board and the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce.

He has been an organizational, advisory, and/or fundraising volunteer for March of Dimes; United Way; Little League Baseball; Salvation Army; and Yakima Specialties Foundation (Past President). He was the sitting chair of the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce in 1985-86 the year "Leadership Yakima" was founded and became a graduate of the very first class. He has also served on almost every Chamber committee as a volunteer or chair over the past 30 years. He returned to the Chamber Board of Directors in 2009 and continues to organize the "Past Board Chairs" of the Chamber who honor him this year with their secret ballot to name him a Ted Robertson Community Service Award recipient.

The Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Board Chairs are proud to announce the 2015 recipients of the Ted Robertson Community Service Award; Dr. Linda Kaminski of Yakima Valley Community College and Ronald R. King of Radio Yakima.

The Ted Robertson Community Service Award will be presented at the Annual Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Awards Black and White Night Gala - Thursday October 22nd, 2015 - Yakima Convention Center Ballroom

Past Ted Robertson Community Service Award Recipients:
June 22, 1989 - Bea Noel
April 5, 1990 - Greta Bryan
April 25, 1991 – Dorothy "Bill" Donelson Robertson
March 5, 1992 - Wesley H. "Bud" Snyder
March 5, 1993 - Melvin Wagner
February 4, 1994 - Bob DiPietro, Sr.
February 24, 1995 - Shirley Doty
February 6, 1996 - Marvin Sundquist
February 8, 1997 - Bob "Straight Arrow" Lynch
April 17, 1998 - "Ollie" Nelson
February 10, 1999 – Eugene "Gene" Shields
February 25, 2000 - Curtis King
March 2001 - Ester Huey
May 22, 2002 - Senator Alex Deccio
April 3, 2003 - Paul Campbell, Gary George, Mel Moore, Gene Rostvold
May 20, 2004 - Rick Linneweh
April 14, 2005 - Gary Webster
October 25, 2006 - Sid Morrison
March 27, 2008 - Bob Hall
September 24, 2009- Dale Carpenter
October 8, 2010- Gary Lukehart
September 16, 2011 – Bob Brown
September 14, 2012 – John Gasperetti
November 7th, 2013 – Greg and Jan Luring
October 9th, 2014 – Ken Marble, Bill Dolsen, and Al DeAtley

Posted June 09, 2015


Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce
10 North 9th Street • Yakima WA 98901
Phone (509) 248-2021