## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

<u>Date:</u> August 1, 2013

## Contact:

Thane Phelan Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Vice President 509.248.2021 x 106 thane@yakima.org

Editorial Contact
Verlynn Best
President/CEO
Greater Yakima
Chamber of Commerce
509.248.2021 x 102
verlynn@yakima.org

The Ted Robertson Community Service Award was established twenty three years ago by the GYCC Past Board Chairs to honor an individual each year that has made major contributions to the betterment of the greater Yakima area. Ted Robertson, former publisher of the Yakima-Herald Republic, held a strong belief that good fortune earned in a community should be shared with that community. Ted also believed that we, as a community, ought to find more ways to honor people who distinguish themselves though their community service.

This year's honorees were selected by the Past Board Chairs of the Chamber, for their inspiring leadership, achievements, and commitment to the improvement of our community as a businesspeople and citizen of the Yakima Valley.

This year's recipients, having been in business in the Yakima Valley for the last 33 years, have supported dozens of local organizations through time, funding, and leadership.

Organizations benefitting from their community service are almost too many to name. The valley's pre-schools, grade schools and high schools, valley sports teams, Allied Arts, Rotary, United Way, Red Cross, YMCA, YWCA, Comprehensive Mental Health, KYVE, Yakima Symphony, Visitors and Convention Bureau, La Casa Hogar, Junior League, The Community Foundation, Heritage College, The Seasons, YVCC, Central WA Osteopathic School, Warehouse Theater, numerous churches, Boy Scouts, Booster Clubs, Parker Youth Sports Foundation, Yakima Schools Foundation, McDonald's Care Mobile, and more.

Greg is the Founder and has been President of the Rotary Trust. He has been President of the Yakima Downtown Rotary and is presently District Governor Elect. On two separate occasions he has planned 13 new schools and ran two political campaigns to pass the bond.

Jan has served on over 12 boards and President of several to compile over 50 years of board services. She was Business Women of the Year in 1990 and started the Sunrise Rotary Speech contest for youth that same year. She has successfully, chaired auctions for KYVE, Heritage College, Junior League, United Way of Central WA and big tickets items for Rotary and others. Greg and Jan are personally thrilled with the gift to children through their involvement with Junior Achievement. 12000 children access additional learning skills through this program in Central WA.

Starting with one store in 1980, the Luring's now have almost 800 employees and 12 stores. The most valuable aspect to their chosen path as McDonald's owners are the hundreds of Yakima Valley youth they have employed. Some of their most treasured moments are having former employees, who



Greg and Jan Luring

now could be parents or grandparents, say they are successful today because of their McDonald's work experience.

The Luring's have received numerous awards, however the most prestigious is the Ronald McDonald Award for community service. It is the highest honor McDonald's can bestow upon an owner operator. Only one is given in a 5 state region and they have received it twice.

The Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Board Chairs are proud to announce the 2013 recipients of the Ted Robertson Community Service Award;

Greg and Jan Luring from McDonald's of Yakima County

The Ted Robertson Community Service Award will be presented at the Annual Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Awards
Black and White Night Gala
Thursday November 7th, 2013
Yakima Convention Center Ballroom

## **Ted Robertson Community Service Award Recipients:**

June 22, 1989 - Bea Noel

April 5, 1990 - Greta Bryan

April 25, 1991 – Dorothy "Bill" Donelson Robertson

March 5, 1992 - Wesley H. "Bud" Snyder

March 5, 1993 - Melvin Wagner

February 4, 1994 - Bob DiPietro, Sr.

February 24, 1995 - Shirley Doty

February 6, 1996 - Marvin Sundquist

February 8, 1997 - Bob "Straight Arrow" Lynch

April 17, 1998 - "Ollie" Nelson

February 10, 1999 – Eugene "Gene" Shields

February 25, 2000 - Curtis King

March 2001 - Ester Huev

May 22, 2002 - Senator Alex Deccio

April 3, 2003 - Paul Campbell, Gary George, Mel Moore, Gene Rostvold

May 20, 2004 - Rick Linneweh

April 14, 2005 - Gary Webster

October 25, 2006 - Sid Morrison

March 27, 2008 - Bob Hall

September 24, 2009- Dale Carpenter

October 8, 2010- Gary Lukehart

September 16, 2011 – Bob Brown

September 14, 2012 – John Gasperetti