Contact Us Member Login

Award Ceremonies

Presenting Sponsor

The Annual Women Awards honors women of the Yakima Valley in the following categories; Legendary Community Service Award, Legendary Education Award, Legendary Leadership in Business Award, & Legendary Business Ownership Award. This ceremony stands as a beacon of recognition, celebrating women of the Yakima Valley who embody professionalism, achievement, influence, leadership and volunteerism in our community.
The 2024 Women Awards will take place on Thursday, May 9th. Click here for nominees and registration
Thank you to our Diamond Sponsor, Legends Casino & Hotel.


Nominated and voted by the Members of the Chamber, the Annual Chamber Awards are presented each year to showcase Yakima area businesses in the following categories; Volunteer of the Year, Non-Profit of the Year, Emerging Business of the Year, Member of the Year, & Business of the Year.


The Ted Robertson Community Service Award was established in 1989 by the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Presidents/Board Chairmen to honor individuals each year that have made major contributions to the betterment of the Greater Yakima area.  Ted Robertson, former publisher of the Yakima-Herald Republic, held a strong belief that good fortune earned in a community should be shared with that community.  Ted also believed that we, as a community, ought to find more ways to honor people who distinguish themselves through their community service over and above their chosen profession.  The honorees are selected by the Past Board Presidents/Chairs of the Chamber for their inspiring leadership, achievements and commitment to the improvement of our community as business people and citizens of the Yakima Valley.


Protocol for Ted Robertson Award Community Service Award

The nominating of a Ted Robertson Award recipient is done through all of the Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce Past Presidents/Board Chairs at a meeting in the first quarter of each year.  The group meets to select from a list of candidates and fully vets, through discussion of community activities, the impact they have had.  Voting takes place from the narrowed candidate selection and final candidates are chosen.  In the second quarter the recipients are met with by the Past Presidents/Board Chairs and asked to accept this honor.  Once chosen and accepted, a press conference is scheduled where a press release is issued to the media.  The Ted Robertson Community Service Tribute Banquet is normally scheduled for the Fall (Sept/Oct/Nov time frame).

Past Ted Robertson Community Service Award Recipients:

June 22, 1989 - Bea Noel
April 5, 1990 - Greta Bryan
April 25, 1991 – Dorothy “Bill” Donelson Robertson
March 5, 1992 - Wesley H. “Bud” Snyder
March 5, 1993 - Melvin Wagner
February 4, 1994 - Bob DiPietro, Sr.
February 24, 1995 - Shirley Doty
February 6, 1996 - Marvin Sundquist
February 8, 1997 - Bob “Straight Arrow” Lynch
April 17, 1998 - “Ollie” Nelson
February 10, 1999 – Eugene “Gene” Shields
February 25, 2000 - Curtis King
March 2001 - Ester Huey
May 22, 2002 - Senator Alex Deccio
April 3, 2003 - Paul Campbell, Gary George, Mel Moore, Gene Rostvold
May 20, 2004 - Rick Linneweh
April 14, 2005 - Gary Webster
October 25, 2006 - Sid Morrison
March 27, 2008 - Bob Hall
September 24, 2009- Dale Carpenter
October 8, 2010- Gary Lukehart
September 16, 2011 – Bob Brown
September 14, 2012 – John Gasperetti
November 7th, 2013 – Greg and Jan Luring
October 9th, 2014 – Ken Marble, Bill Dolsen, and Al DeAtley
October 22nd, 2015 – Dr. Linda Kaminski and Ronald King
November 3rd, 2016 - Steve and Anne Caffery and Dr. Lloyd Butler
October 12th, 2017- Rick Pinnell
November 8th, 2018 - Jack & Connie Bloxom 
November 7th, 2019 - John Baule 
November 4, 2021- Joe Mann
November 3, 2022 - Dr. Kathleen Ross                                                                                                                                                                                          October 19, 2023 - Dr. Gayle Brewer, Phil English and Rich Austin


Greater Yakima Chamber of Commerce
10 North 9th Street • Yakima WA 98901
Phone (509) 248-2021